MDMA-related offenses and punishment in Texas

Note: Please help us update this page!
We are currently seeking data on the standard disposition of MDMA offenses in Texas. If you are a defense attorney or a defendant in such a case, please e-mail us with information about the county of the alleged offense and the offer, if any made by the prosecutor, as well as the actual final disposition.

MDMA is a controlled substance in Texas

Unlike a state such as California, which has not explicitly scheduled MDMA, but instead considers it as within its broad "controlled substance analogue" provisions, MDMA is an explicitly scheduled substance in Texas. MDMA has been placed it in “Group 2” of the Texas controlled substance hierarchy. (See Tex. Health & Safety Code, Sec. 481.103).

Punishment for Simple Possession of MDMA

The punishment for simple possession of MDMA in Texas is dependant upon the weight of the MDMA (See Tex. Health & Saf. Code, Sec. 481.116):

  • Less than 1 gram = “state felony” with a mandatory minimum of 180 days in county jail up to 2 years and a fine of up to $10,000. (Tex Pen. Code, Sec. 12.35).

  • 1 gram, but less than 4 grams = "felony 3rd degree" with a mandatory 2 year minimum, up to 10 years, and a fine of up to $10,000. (Pen. Code, Sec. 12.34.)

  • 4 grams, but less than 400 grams = "felony 2nd degree" with a  mandatory 2 year minimum, up to 20 years, and fine of up to $10,000 (Pen. Code, Sec. 12.33)

  • 400 grams or more = mandatory 5 year minimum, with possible life imprisonment (Health & Saf. Code, Sec. 481.116)

 

Punishment for distributing or manufacturing MDMA, possessing it with the intent to distribute

Distributing or manufacturing MDMA, possessing it with the intent to distribute it is punishable as follows. (See Tex. Health & Saf. Code, Sec. 481.113):

  • Less than 1 gram = "state felony ” with a mandatory minimum sentence of 180 days in county jail up to 2 years and a fine of up to $10,000. (Tex Pen. Code, Sec. 12.35).

  • 1 gram, but less than 4 grams = "felony 2nd degree" with a mandatory 2 year minimum, up to 20 years, and fine of up to $10,000 (Pen. Code, Sec. 12.33)

  • 4 grams, but less than 400 grams = "felony 1st degree" with a  mandatory 5 year minimum, up to possible life imprisonment and maximum $10,000 fine. (See Pen. Code, Sec. 12.32)

  • 400 grams or more = mandatory 10 year minimum, with possible life imprisonment (Health & Saf. Code, Sec. 481.113)

If you have found this information helpful, please support our research by supporting the Center for Cognitive Liberty & Ethics.