CCLE Directors & Fellows

Dr. Wrye Sententia 
From its founding in 1999-2005, Dr. Wrye Sententia served as co-director of the CCLE, overseeing projects that aim to focus public attention on cognitive technologies in relation to individual rights of mind (neuroethics), as well as drawing attention to neuroethical concerns about trends in psychopharmacology & related cognitive neuroscience fields. 

Richard Glen Boire
Mr. Boire is the CCLE's Senior Fellow in Law and Policy. He received his Doctorate of Jurisprudence from the University of California, Berkeley in 1990. He served as co-director of the CCLE from 1999-2004.

Danielle C. Turner
Danielle Turner is a CCLE Fellow and a postdoctoral research associate at the University of Cambridge Department of Psychiatry in the UK. She recently completed a PhD in psychopharmacology at the University of Cambridge, her work focuses on cognitive enhancement.

Michael D. Ostrolenk
Mr. Ostrolenk serves as the CCLE's Washington DC Policy Fellow.

Dale Carrico
Mr. Carrico is a CCLE Fellow. He completed his Ph.D. in Rhetoric at the Univeristy of California, Berkeley.

>> Previous Summer Fellows

CCLE Board of Advisors

John Perry Barlow is co-founder of the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and is currently a fellow at Harvard Law School's Berkman Center for Internet and Society.

Rick Doblin, Ph.D., has a Ph.D. in Public Policy from Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Alex Grey is a visionary artist and author living in New York City.

Ira Glasser, M.A. served as Executive Director of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) for 23 years.

Lester Grinspoon, M.D., is an associate professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School.

Charles Grob, M.D., director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, and professor of psychiatry and pediatrics at the UCLA School of Medicine

Douglas Husak holds both a Ph.D. and J.D. and is Professor of Philosophy and Law at Rutgers University.

Laura Archera Huxley is the founder of Children: Our Ultimate Investment, and an author of several books, among which are  You Are Not the Target, and This Timeless Moment: A Personal View of Aldous Huxley.

Zack Lynch, M.A., is an evolutionary biologist and author of a new book (July 2009) on neurotechnology and society.

Ralph Metzner, Ph.D., is a psychotherapist and president of the Green Earth Foundation.

Sadie Plant, Ph.D., is a writer and cultural theorist. Her recent books include Zeros + Ones: Digital Women and the New Technoculture and Writing on Drugs.

David Presti, Ph.D., teaches Neuroscience at the University of California, Berkeley, and worked for many years as a clinician in the treatment of drug abuse at the VA Medical Center in San Francisco.

Douglas Rushkoff, M.F.A.
Douglas Rushkoff analyzes the way people, cultures, and institutions create, share, and influence each other's values. He is the author of eight best-selling books on new media and popular culture, including Cyberia, Media Virus, Playing the Future, and Coercion: Why We Listen to What "They" Say.

Alexander T. Shulgin, Ph.D.
Dr. Shulgin is a
chemist, researcher, and author. With his wife, Ann, has authored the books PIHKAL and TIHKAL.

Thomas Szasz, M.D.
Dr. Szasz is professor emeritus of psychiatry at the State University of New York Health Science Center, Syracuse.  

Paul Root Wolpe, Ph.D. is a professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania, where he also holds appointments in the Department of Medical Ethics and the Department of Sociology.

Advisors Emeritus
Ram Dass
Jonathan Ott
Dale Pendell
Myron Stolaroff